Otis Spann Otis Is the Blues 180g LP

AED 157.50 (Inc. Tax)

(Price Per Unit)
Free delivery on orders above AED 500 in UAE.

4 interest-free debit/credit card payments. Learn more
4 interest -free payments, Sharia-compliant. Learn more

Out of stock

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

Need Assistance?

In 1988, on a break from his band the Rolling Stones, Keith Richards released his first ever solo album, Talk Is Cheap. This universally respected debut is an eleven track masterclass in everything that's good about rock 'n roll and features guest appearances from an all-star cast including Sarah Dash, Bootsy Collins, Maceo Parker, the Memphis Horns, Patti Scialfa and Mick Taylor.

Read More


Perhaps best known for his long association with the legendary Muddy Waters, Otis Spann is largely recognized as one of the greatest blues pianists of all time. First making a name for himself in Chicago during the 1940s, Spann’s career kept him active up until his untimely death in 1970. Along with Muddy Waters, Spann worked with such luminaries as Howlin’ Wolf, Bo Diddley, BB King, Eric Clapton, James Cotton, Buddy Guy and Big Momma Thornton.

Although Spann made a name for himself in Chicago by the mid 1940s, it wasn’t until 1960 that he got the opportunity to record an album of his own. Otis Spann Is the Blues is not only the first solo album ever recorded by Otis Spann, it is also the first album ever recorded for the fledgling New York City based Candid Records label.

Produced by Candid co-founder, famed music critic and social activist Nat Hentoff, the album captures not one, but two legends at the peak of their powers – Otis Spann and Robert Lockwood. Jr. Lockwood, Muddy Waters’ guitar player, was an obvious choice to accompany Spann at these sessions in August of 1960. It’s worth noting that Lockwood had been a longtime collaborator of Sonny Boy Williamson, and was the stepson and only student of then virtually unknown blues musician Robert Johnson. (Columbia Records would release Robert Johnson King of the Delta Blues Singers the following year and change the course of music history forever.)

Stripped down to just the two musicians, this magnificently performed and produced set showcases Spann’s voice as well as piano. With only Lockwood’s guitar behind him, Spann stretches out with his pulsing two-handed rhythmic attack, and brings the barrelhouse piano style of his youth in line with the modern Chicago style he embodied. These sessions also produced additional material that ended up on Candid’s Otis Spann album, Walkin’ the Blues, released posthumously in 1972.The LP includes extraordinary liner notes written by Hentoff himself, giving a context and insight that adds to the experience of hearing these magnificent performances.

- 180g Vinyl
- Remastered by Bernie Grundman from Original Master Tapes
- Tip-on Jacket
- Liner Notes by Nat Hentoff
- Made in the U.S.A.

Side A:
- The Hard Way
- Take a Little Walk with Me
- Otis in the Dark
- Little Boy Blue
- Country Boy
Side B:
- Beat-Up Team
- My Daily Wish
- Great Northern Stomp
- I Got Rambling on My Mind #2
- Worried Life Blues

Orders ship Sunday through Friday from our offices in Dubai, UAE.

In-stock products typically ship within 48 hours and should be expected to arrive in 3-4 business days. Orders outside of the UAE should be expected to arrive in 5-7 business days.

Pre-order and backorder products will state the approximate delivery timeline beside the Add To Cart button.

If you would like to place a custom order, chat with our specialists for a guided shopping experience. Once your order has been placed, a timeline will be provided depending on your order details.

- Free delivery within the UAE
- Shipping charges will be calculated upon checkout for orders outside of the UAE (Bahrain, Oman, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia & Qatar).
- Taxes and duties are calculated according to the applicable laws of the state or country an item is shipped to and are the customer's responsibility.

For additional information on shipping and our exchange & return policy visit our help center.

Installation charges are applicable and can be paid upon delivery for our clients based in Dubai.

- Installation Charges: AED 450 Per Hour
- Speaker Cables: AED 32 Per Meter
- Trunking: AED 10 Per Meter

For clients based outside of the UAE, please contact our specialists and we will share an estimate based on your requirements.


StormStudios Design
Pink Floyd: The Years Later Co...
AED 5,500.00 (Inc. Tax)
The Allman Brothers Band Live ...
AED 141.75 (Inc. Tax)
Rolling Stone
Rolling Stone the 500 Greatest...
AED 178.50 (Inc. Tax)
Analogue Productions
Mighty Sam McClain Give It Up ...
AED 257.25 (Inc. Tax)